Back to FlipQuiz CLASSROOM REVIEW GAME for EDUCATORS

Public vs Private vs Private with Password

As a FlipQuiz PRO member, you have several options for board privacy. Maybe you want to get started, but aren't ready to share with the world, so you simply want to mark your board as private. Maybe you are done, but your board contains secretive material. Or maybe you want to share your board with everyone.

For each case, there is a privacy setting.

Disclaimer: FlipQuiz is NOT responsible for any damages as a result of personal or classified information being accessed. Never put passwords, bank or financial information, social security numbers, or any other personal or private information on a FlipQuiz board! It's just a bad idea.

Public Boards (Everyone)

The public setting is the default setting. In fact, if you're not a PRO member, you won't even see the choice to change it. But what does "Public" mean? With a public board:

  • Your board will be among the listings for Recent Boards, Popular Boards, 100% Complete Boards, and the Board Search
  • Your board will be submitted to search engines, so it will get picked up by Google, Yahoo!, Bing, and others
  • Your board will be able to be surfed to directly using the unique URL
  • Your board will be freely available for use in Presentation Mode as well as Flashcards (if applicable)
  • Your board will be available for PRO members to clone using the "Copy Board" feature

Private Boards (PRO-only)

Private boards are your first line of defense against prying eyes - if you are a PRO member. Let's say you want to start a board, but aren't ready to share with everyone. You might still want to collaborate with your colleagues, though. Or maybe the board is complete, but you don't want to share your hard work while still being able to use the board. In comes the "Private" setting. With a private board:

  • Your board will no longer be among the listings for Recent Boards, Popular Boards, 100% Complete Boards, and the Board Search
  • Your board will not be submitted to search engines (it will however, remain available by search engine if it was picked up as public and later changed to private)
  • Your board will still be able to be surfed to directly using the unique URL
  • Your board will be freely available for use in Presentation Mode as well as Flashcards (if applicable)
  • Your board will not be available for PRO members to clone using the "Copy Board" feature (except by you if you want to copy your own board)

Private + Password (PRO-only)

A private board with a password set is the ultimate way to keep people out of your boards. With a password set, a person will need to not only know the unique URL, but also have a corresponding passcode to access the board! (Remember: never - seriously, ever - put any personal or private content on a board that would be damaging for a criminal to stumble upon on a FlipQuiz board!)

With a private and password protected board:

  • Your board will no longer be among the listings for Recent Boards, Popular Boards, 100% Complete Boards, and the Board Search
  • Your board will not be submitted to search engines (it will however, remain available by search engine if it was picked up as public and later changed to private)
  • Your board will still be able to be surfed to directly using the unique URL, but all content will be hidden until the password is entered
  • Your board will not be freely available for use in Presentation Mode or Flashcards (if applicable) without the password
  • Your board will not be available for PRO members to clone using the "Copy Board" feature (except by you if you want to copy your own board)

Bottom line, your board will be hidden - the overview, presentation mode, and flashcards - from everyone (except the author) until the password has been entered correctly.

Tags: 
privacy
password
PRO
private